Mansfield Social Inclusion Action Group Launch

Published on 23 February 2024

Image - Mansfield Social Inclusion Action Group.jpg

A formal launch of the Mansfield Social Inclusion Action Group was held on Wednesday 22 February 2024 at the Station Precinct’s Gadhaba Gathering Place.

The Mayor, Councillors, CEO, local community groups and other stakeholders, including community members and a representative from the Victorian Government’s Department of Health Mental Health and Wellbeing Division, attended the launch.

The Social Inclusion Action Group (SIAG) is a community-led initiative that is dedicated to improving social connection, mental health and wellbeing. Mansfield Shire Council is one of 5 local government areas awarded funding for a Victorian Government state-wide initiative that was created as part of the recommendation from the Royal Commission into the mental health system in Victoria. It is funded and managed by the Mental Health and Wellbeing Division, Department of Health.

The newly formed group is made up of twelve diverse community members and four organisational partners representing seven outlying communities within the shire. Each representative has extensive connections to local community groups, stakeholders and organisations as well as having mental health lived experience.

Mayor Cr Steve Rabie said he was pleased to be able to attend the launch.

“The funding to improve our mental health systems and supports is best placed with those who know best – community members who have lived experience, strong connections and skills within their sectors. This group will look specifically at Mansfield Shire’s community to determine what we need at a local level,” said Mayor Rabie.

“I look forward to seeing what this group can achieve.”

The group has ongoing funding to explore existing programs and initiatives that create social inclusion and connection, and to determine how to best strengthen the systems of support available for the Mansfield Shire community. Grant funding will support programs that improve the mental health of the community in the long-term.

For more information, please visit the Social Inclusion Action Group website, for more info or contact the Coordinator Allison O’Keefe on 0487 033 164

*Pictured Left to Right:

Front – Sandra Lording Rev Melissa Clark, Paul Allen, Mayor Rabie, Caitlyn Moscrop

Back - Angie Phong, Sujita Sharma, Miranda Connaughton, State Mental Health and Wellbeing Promotion Adviser Executive Director Mental Health and Wellbeing Division Department of Health Monica Kelly, Brendan Eyssens, Bonnie Clarke, Bianca Hurle, Allison O’Keefe, Counsellor Tehan, Warren Coad.