Citizen Awards Announced and New Australian Citizen Welcomed

Published on 29 January 2024


Mansfield Shire welcomed a new Australian Citizen on Friday 26 January at the Australia Day Ceremony in Botanic Park where the winners of the 2024 Mansfield Shire Citizen of the Year Awards were also announced.

The awards were presented across five categories and were awarded to:

  • Cathy Raeburn, Citizen of the Year
  • Karen Pirie, Senior Citizen of the Year
  • Amelie Walker, Young Citizen of the Year
  • Mansfield Pottery Festival, Community Event of the Year
  • Delatite Drivers Car Club, Community Group or Organisation

Mayor Cr Steve Rabie congratulated the award recipients and nominees and commended their contributions, commitment, and valued work within the community.

“We are so lucky to have people that are truly dedicated to their community, and these awards are our way of recognising their contributions and achievements,” Cr Rabie said.

Award winners were selected by the Australia Day Awards judging panel comprising the Mayor Cr Steve Rabie, Cr James Tehan, Cr Mark Holcombe, last year’s Citizen of the Year, Cathie Smith and Senior Citizen of the Year, Marie Sellstrom. 

As part of the Australia Day ceremony Agatha Pronk from the Netherlands was welcomed as our newest Australian Citizen in a Citizenship Ceremony officiated by Cr Rabie.

Australian citizenship ceremonies are an important part of our nation’s celebrations, with more people becoming citizens on Australia Day than any other day of the year. Our newest citizen has joined a special group of Australians who celebrate the anniversary of their citizenship each Australia Day.

Further details about our award winners can be found on Council’s website