Councillor Representation on Internal Committees of Council and External Committees

AS AT 28 NOVEMBER 2023

Mansfield Shire

INTERNAL COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL	RESPONSIBLE COUNCILLOR(S)
Chief Executive Officer Employment Matters Committee	
The Committee is established to assist Council to fulfil its responsibilities in relation to employment matters of the Chief Executive Officer, as outlined in Council's CEO Employment and Remuneration Policy.	
 The Committee will oversee matters relating to CEO employment and remuneration in accordance with the Act, s.45(2) including: Recruitment and Appointment of CEO Contractual Arrangements Remuneration and Expenses CEO Performance Objectives and Review 	Mayor Cr Steve Rabie Cr Mark Holcombe Cr James Tehan
The Committee has the authority to undertake discussions with the Chief Executive Officer in relation to CEO employment matters within agreed parameters. The Committee makes recommendations to Council on CEO employment matters	
Mansfield Shire Audit and Risk Committee	
The Local Government Act 2020 mandates the appointment of an Audit and Risk Committee. This Committee reviews financial and risk management systems to assist Council in carrying out its corporate governance responsibilities. It has three independent members, with one holding the role of Chair. The Committee meets quarterly and requires two Councillor representatives, one of which must be the Mayor.	Mayor Cr Steve Rabie Cr Mark Holcombe
	RESPONSIBLE
EXTERNAL COMMITTEES	COUNCILLOR(S)
Australia Day Awards Committee	
	COUNCILLOR(S) Mayor Cr Steve Rabie Cr Mark Holcombe
Australia Day Awards Committee This Committee assesses nominations and decides on the recommended award	COUNCILLOR(S) Mayor Cr Steve Rabie
Australia Day Awards Committee This Committee assesses nominations and decides on the recommended award recipients for the Mansfield Citizen Awards. This Committee requires representation from the Mansfield Shire Council Mayor	COUNCILLOR(S) Mayor Cr Steve Rabie Cr Mark Holcombe
Australia Day Awards Committee This Committee assesses nominations and decides on the recommended award recipients for the Mansfield Citizen Awards. This Committee requires representation from the Mansfield Shire Council Mayor and two additional Councillors.	COUNCILLOR(S) Mayor Cr Steve Rabie Cr Mark Holcombe
Australia Day Awards Committee This Committee assesses nominations and decides on the recommended award recipients for the Mansfield Citizen Awards. This Committee requires representation from the Mansfield Shire Council Mayor and two additional Councillors. Goulburn Murray Climate Alliance (GMCA) The GBGA is a membership based alliance of 13 Councils and key environment agencies in the Goulburn Broken and North East regions of Victoria, working	COUNCILLOR(S) Mayor Cr Steve Rabie Cr Mark Holcombe Cr James Tehan
Australia Day Awards Committee This Committee assesses nominations and decides on the recommended award recipients for the Mansfield Citizen Awards. This Committee requires representation from the Mansfield Shire Council Mayor and two additional Councillors. Goulburn Murray Climate Alliance (GMCA) The GBGA is a membership based alliance of 13 Councils and key environment agencies in the Goulburn Broken and North East regions of Victoria, working together on responses to the challenge of climate change.	COUNCILLOR(S) Mayor Cr Steve Rabie Cr Mark Holcombe Cr James Tehan
 Australia Day Awards Committee This Committee assesses nominations and decides on the recommended award recipients for the Mansfield Citizen Awards. This Committee requires representation from the Mansfield Shire Council Mayor and two additional Councillors. Goulburn Murray Climate Alliance (GMCA) The GBGA is a membership based alliance of 13 Councils and key environment agencies in the Goulburn Broken and North East regions of Victoria, working together on responses to the challenge of climate change. This Alliance requires representation from one Mansfield Shire Councillor. 	COUNCILLOR(S) Mayor Cr Steve Rabie Cr Mark Holcombe Cr James Tehan

This Network requires representation from the Mansfield Shire Council Mayor.

Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV)

The MAV is the legislated peak body for local government in Victoria. Its role is to:

- Advocate local government interests
- Build the capacity of Victorian councils
- Facilitate effective networks
- Initiate policy development and advice
- Support Councillors
- Promote the role of local government.

The MAV also provide training and information to councillors and officers on key issues. Council is a financial member of the MAV and is required to nominate both a primary representative and a substitute representative. As Council's representative, the nominated Councillor could participate in various issue based committees overseen by the MAV.

The nominated MAV representatives from the North East Council meet generally on a quarterly basis. There are also additional State-wide meetings of representatives.

The MAV require representation from the Mansfield Shire Council Mayor, with the Deputy Mayor appointed as substitute.

Rural Councils Victoria (RCV)

Incorporated (RCV) was established as a stand-alone entity on 29 June 2016. A Committee was formed to develop and deliver the RCV workplan and fulfil the obligations of RCV as an incorporated entity.

The appointed representative will remain as the delegate until a member appoints a new delegate and notifies the RCV Committee of that appointment.

The Committee is made up of twelve members comprising a Councillor Representative or CEO Representative from each of the six MAV Regions.

Mansfield Shire Council is in the rural north-east Region and the following councils make up this Region:

- 1. Alpine Shire Council
- 2. Benalla Rural City Council
- 3. Indigo Shire Council
- 4. Mansfield Shire Council
- 5. Mitchell Shire Council
- 6. Moira Shire Council
- 7. Murrindindi Shire Council
- 8. Strathbogie Shire Council
- 9. Towong Shire Council

A Councillor delegate is nominated to represent Mansfield Shire Council at the Rural Councils Victoria Committee AGM to vote on behalf of Council.

Mayor Cr Steve Rabie Deputy Mayor Cr Mark Holcombe

Mayor Cr Steve Rabie Cr James TEhan