A-   A+  

Election Information

Ward Structure

Mansfield Shire is divided into four Wards - Bonnie Doon, Jamieson, Mansfield and Tolmie.  Each Ward is represented by one Councillor, with the exception of Mansfield Ward, which has two.  The five Councillors are elected for a term of four years.

Election period

All Victorian councils observe special arrangements during the 32-day period leading up to a general council election. This period is known as the Election Period (or Caretaker Period). The aim of the Caretaker Period is to ensure that the outgoing council does not make any decisions which may affect the decision making ability of the incoming council. During this period the council must avoid the use of public resources in a way that may unduly affect the election result. The Caretaker Period is defined as the period from the last day for nominations until the election day, that is from 12.00 noon on Tuesday, 20 September 2016 to 6.00pm on Saturday, 22 October 2016.

Despite Mansfield Shire not hold an election (due to all 4 Wards being uncontested), Council is still required to observe the Caretaker Period.

By law, a council may not make the following types of decisions, either directly or by delegation, during an election period:

  • Decisions relating to the employment or remuneration of a permanent Chief Executive of the Council;
  • Decisions to enter into contracts that are valued at more than $150,000 for goods and services contracts and $200,000 for works contracts or 1% of the Council's revenue from rates (whichever is the greater)
  • Decisions to enter into entrepreneurial ventures that are valued at more than $100,000 or 1% of the Council's revenue from rates (whichever is greater).

An exception can apply if the Council seeks and obtains an exemption from the Minister for Local Government to allow it to make a decision of one of the above types.

Council adopted its Election (Caretaker) Period Policy on 18 February 2016, which explains the Election Period in more detail.

Election dates

As all Mansfield Wards were uncontested, there will be no election held on 22 October 2016.  The next Council election will be held every four years after this date. The term is fixed by law and no opportunity is provided for an earlier general election.

Elections are generally conducted by postal vote and co-ordinated by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC). 

If more than two people nominate in the Mansfield Ward there will be an election for that Ward, but if only two people nominate there will be no election and those two people will be automatically elected as Councillors.  All Mansfield Shire Wards were uncontested.

Click here for a list of key dates relating to this year's elections.

Declaration of the poll

The VEC's Returning Officer publicly declares the election results once the votes have been counted and scrutineers have had time to examine the record of the count. This is usually within a few days following the Election Day.

The declaration is often performed at a special ceremony. The Returning Officer will read out the person or persons elected and, where appropriate, the order in which they were elected.

The declaration of the and the Mansfield Shire results was held on Monday, 24 October 2016 at 10.00am in the Mansfield municipal office Council Chamber.

Past election results

The results of past elections can be viewed on the Victorian Electoral Commission website.